Download the vcard Photo

Full Professor

Member of Interdepartmental Center (Ec-L - Energy Center Lab)

+39 0110904640 / 4640 (DISAT)

+39 0110905350 / 5350 (DISAT)

+39 0110905351 / 5351 (DISAT)

Personal web site

Federico Bella (Torino, 1987) is Full Professor of Chemistry at Politecnico di Torino. In the Electrochemistry Group, he leads the research activities on post-Li batteries, electrochemical nitrogen reduction and hybrid photovoltaics. Due to his important achievements in energy chemistry, he received the “ENI Award” and the “Roberto Piontelli Award” from the President of the Italian Republic. In 2021, he was the recipient of the USERN Prize, awarded among 10000 candidates by a jury of previous Nobel awardees. He is author of more than 100 international publications (h-index 65) and he leads the ERC project SuN2rise, a 1.5 M€ EU grant for redesigning NH3 production process. He has coordinated the Early-Career Division of the Italian Chemical Society and his member of the Editorial Board of cutting edge journals in the chemistry field, e.g. ChemSusChem and ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering.

(Area 0003 - Scienze chimiche)
Curriculum Curriculum file application/pdf (1061 KB)
Identifiers ORCID: 0000-0002-2282-9667
Scopus Author ID: 55600535900
WoS ResearcherID: D-2280-2013
Google Scholar ID: GGDGDQoAAAAJ
Skills and keywords

ERC sectors

PE8_2 - Chemical engineering, technical chemistry PE4_8 - Electrochemistry, electrodialysis, microfluidics, sensors PE5_8 - Intelligent materials – self assembled materials PE8_8 - Materials engineering (biomaterials, metals, ceramics, polymers, composites, etc.) PE5_6 - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles


Goal 7: Affordable and clean energy Goal 9: Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure Goal 4: Quality education Goal 12: Responsible consumption and production


Batteries Biosourced polymers Design of experiments Dye-sensitized solar cells Electrochemical nitrogen reduction Integrated energy devices Lithium batteries Polymer electrolytes Potassium batteries Sustainable ammonia production
Scientific responsibilities and other assignments

Awards and Honors

  • Premio Botta&Risposta conferred by Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy (2009)
  • Menzione "Optime" - Unione Industriale di Torino conferred by Unione Industriale di Torino, Italy (2010)
  • Premio "Optime" Unione Industriale di Torino conferred by Unione Industriale di Torino, Italy (2012)
  • Migliore presentazione orale al 13° Sigma Aldrich Young Chemists Symposium (SAYCS) conferred by Società Chimica Italiana e Sigma-Aldrich, Italy (2013)
  • Premio per la Miglior Tesi di Laurea - AA 2010/2011 - Università degli Studi di Torino conferred by Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy (2013)
  • Macrogiovani conferred by Associazione Italiana di Scienza e Tecnologia delle Macromolecole (AIM), Italy (2014)
  • Premio Sapio Junior conferred by Accademia del Premio Sapio., Italy (2015)
  • Migliore tesi di Dottorato - Divisoine di Elettrochimica della Società Chimica Italiana conferred by Società Chimica Italiana, Italy (2015)
  • Premio Giovedì Scienza conferred by http://www.giovediscienza.it/, Italy (2015)
  • Premio Ricercatore Junior “ENERCHEM-1 2016” conferred by Gruppo Interdivisionale ENERCHEM della Società Chimica Italiana, Italy (2015)
  • Riconoscimento “Top open access article” della Royal Society of Chemistry conferred by Royal Society of Chemistry, United kingdom (2015)
  • ENI Award - Debut in Research conferred by ENI spa, Italy (2016)
  • Outstanding Reviewer conferred by Elsevier BV, Netherlands (2016)
  • Electron Devices PhD Program: Prize for the Best 2015 Thesis conferred by Politecnico di Torino, Italy (2016)
  • European Young Chemist Award conferred by EuCheMS, Belgium (2016)
  • Premio Giovedì Scienza conferred by Fondazione Giovedì Scienza e Fondazione Agorà Scienza, Italy (2016)
  • Riconoscimento “Royal Society of Chemistry – Materials Horizons” conferred by Royal Society of Chemistry, United kingdom (2016)
  • View more


  • Merck Young Chemists Symposium, Program chair
  • XV Sigma-Aldrich Young Chemists Symposium (SAYCS 2015), Program chair
  • XIV Società Chimica Italiana & Sigma-Aldrich Young Chemists Symposium (SCI&SAYCS), Program chair